Gender bender

Hindi is such a weird language. It’s like a bunch of men sat around and decided to create a new language from Sanskrit. And while at it they went – ‘ahem..I don’t know about this napunsak ling (of neither female or male gender) thingy…it makes me a bit uncomfortable..’ and thus the equivalent of ‘it’ or ‘thing’ was never included in hindi. Instead, everything is given a gender.

For example – barish aati hain – we assume that rain is female
The same thing in Kannada is – male baruthaide (No gender issues here!)
Or in malayalam – Mazha verinnu (come on I say, repeat it with the zh!)
Or Tamil even – mazhai varidhe

Now the problem I face is, how do you know what is male or female??
(this is a problem you’ll face when learning french btw). The consequence of this is that I confuse genders! Where i should qualify a noun/adjective with the gender equivalent, I always use the wrong one. And it gets weirder..sometimes the person in question is a woman, yet you use the male form!

And you thought English was diificult because you don’t write it the way you speak it…

Tutu (my Brother, don’t ask my family has weird ‘pet names’ (nicknames)): Oh you took your bunny and went? the poor thing, it must be so confused. It must be lost in transit’ *Laughs*
Tia: *Rolls her eyes*

~ by tia on January 8, 2009.

10 Responses to “Gender bender”

  1. French is so weird!
    They say you know the gender of the word by learning..
    ‘read once, remember forever’
    else repeat statement above;

    pronunciation is similar to malayalam, isn’t it? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. Sanskrit is so good.. you appreciate this only when you start learning other languages.
    I mean it’s structured so well that the order of the words in a sentence does not matter!

    That happening imagine English in
    ou franΓ§ais en πŸ˜›

  3. ok..2 more things now!
    1) we just spoke abt the same thing in the cafe right now!
    2) i have a cousin also called tutu by the family πŸ˜›

  4. c’mon, I used to enjoy talking to you in Hindi ( though it was difficult to control my giggles at your liberal use of ‘thi’ for male and ‘tha’ for females)..hehe..I had to say this someday so glad that you wrote this post…khi khi..ok now don’t retort to this by speaking about my mal in public;)

  5. *Sandeep
    Oui Monsieur R!

    *SAndeep
    I agree…pretty sad I have forgotten my sanskrit..and French both due to disuse. Funny…I thought learning a language was like driving or swimming – you don’t forget it..
    c’est comme un remix!(hope I got that right!)

    *Saphire
    1.Which cafe, the CCD?? Oh do go to the CCD in the evening it looks really nice..except you have a lot of NI and HSBC people sitting around…
    2. Are we related??lol..
    3. Maybe I should get govinda to be my hindi teacher πŸ˜‰

    *ancientmariner
    You had that coming!fake mal πŸ˜›
    Oh come on…my hindi wasn’t that bad…actually I can speak pretty good hindi with people I am comfortable with…the gender problem was/is the only problem I had/have!in fact i could speak shudh hindi..or text book hindi!

  6. meaning you were not comfortable with me !!! lets rephrase your sentence ‘I can speak pretty good Hindi with people who don’t know Hindi’ How about that ??? hehe…Somebody’s gonna get hurt real bad…somebody…and you know who;)

  7. *ancientmariner
    of course I was comfortable with you…but I was also aware that you knew too much hindi!!Lol…you hit the nail on the head!
    Ha ha ha..

  8. you got that right..
    but it doesn’t work that way.. different parts of the brain must be involved in storing info on swimming/driving and speaking/reading/writing πŸ˜€ Wish all parts of our brain was like that stores info on swimming/driving πŸ˜›

  9. Spanish is kinda the same too, all these damn gender rules. But I didn’t pay too much attention to learn anything, so I didn’t get too confused.

    I kinda like Hindi, it kinda sounds better than mallu. Mallu seems to get stuck sometimes in your mouth, while Hindi seems to flow better. Like “Barrish atti hai” flows better than “Mazha Varunu”

Leave a Reply

 
