Home is where the heart is

So, call me a coward (well don’t, my ego won’t be able to handle it) but I might just move back home.

What happened you ask? Well a train hit me. Oh no, not a physical train, but a train of thought…an epiphany even.

I was packing my bags today to spend the night at home, because my family was missing me.Β  And as I was leaving the 16 year old girl who sleeps in the PGΒ  and is the caretaker/servant came up to me and asked me – are you going home?

I replied – yes

And then she said – I haven’t been home in 7 months…in Midnapore, WB.

And that’s when I realized – man I have the luxury of being with my family, something not many people have..and I am just throwing it away. Tomorrow if I get a job outside Bangalore or even the country, I would have the chance to stay away from my family. (Saphire won’t you support me on this one??)

Of course I am freaked out about not being able to adjust outside this city, but knowing me I know I’ll be able to handle living in another city, if that were to happen.

I mean, it’s not easy living with my family, trust me. Starting from waking up to dad blaring suprabatham (trust me whatever Good Karma we gain by listening to it in the morning is lost by the way we swear when rudely woken up by the noise) at 5 in the morning (which means 5 hours of proper sleep) to my brother’s tantrums to the constant questions – where are you going? whom are you going with? when are you coming back?

But then…I don’t know. Let’s see.

And as my friend said, one reason for staying at home? it is cheaper (Btw it was really adorable the way you said it πŸ™‚ )

Oh god, how will I carry that damn sky bag down the stairs…

~ by tia on January 6, 2009.

6 Responses to “Home is where the heart is”

  1. πŸ™‚ this is my dad’s reason for makin me stay at home.. its cheaper and stay on wen u can…when u dont have a choice then…well..u dont have a choice..

    but then Im sure in a short while, wanderlust will beckon again πŸ˜‰

  2. carry it down? why dont you just drop it?

  3. Home sweet home! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the last two posts.. i too was acting a lil weird of late.. Thanks to you, i realize without having to go through it..

    It’s good to learn from others’ mistake sometimes πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

  4. *Saphire
    Ha ha ha..I am wondering when that’s gonna happen with me! Hey if you are ever struck by wanderlust lemme know we can take an apt together..what say?

    *Anoop
    Been reading about Newton lately??

    *Sandeep
    Good…cos I paid 2 grand to learn that lesson!

  5. You moved out of your home? When did this happen? I talk to you all these months and nothing happens, you go to work, come back, lament over some guy, and I go away for a month, and all this happens. Sheesh, need better timing gal!!

Leave a Reply

 
