One minute with a Customer Care person

I just had the most amusing conversation with a call centre employee for a Internet Service Provider that deals with USB Modems. Apparently I was too technically qualified for the person!!

RCC: Hello this is — how may I help you?

Tia: Hi I am a post paid user using a USB modem for my internet. See the problem is this, I don’t receive any data after I am connected to the net. See the timer keeps ticking but it shows 00 Kpbs for send and recieve. <figures that the lady on the other end doesn’t seem to understand what I am saying> see when I send a ping, I don’t get a reply.

RCC lady: huh??

Tia: You know what a ping is right? When I send one I don’t get any reply. <goes on to explain> See I connect to the net, and for let’s say about 20 secs it shows 00 Kpbs for send and recieve; and for the enxt 20 secs it’s all right – I get a speed of about 2 or 3 kbps. And then I again 00 Kbps.

RCC: Okay please hold Ma’am let me talk to my back-end person, the technical person.

Tia: Hokay…!

<Horrid brand tune>

RCC: Okay ma’am the technical person says that there is a Virus in your machine that’s why its slow

Tia: What??? I am using my company laptop, it’s always running a virus scan.

RCC: Ma’am this is what the technical person is saying…

Tia: OKay…thanks…

Man if only Airtel provided internet connection near my place…

~ by tia on December 31, 2008.

10 Responses to “One minute with a Customer Care person”

  1. hehe when in doubt contact your tech savvy friends…let them justify their existence by helping out the damsel in distress…

  2. Comepletely understand the situation. Customer support is what they need and not what they are! πŸ™‚

  3. And yes, there was this one time when I had to visit the Vodafone customer care center and talk to their manager to get my problem resolved. And he was not better. And having worked at a call center once (for a change), I know exactly why they are the way they are.

  4. Worse are the people who start flirting! πŸ˜€

  5. *ancientmariner
    What to do..the most technical of em all is not in India πŸ˜›
    Happy New Year Babe πŸ™‚

    *Nikhil
    I agree!

    *Nikhil (is this the same Nikhil as the earlier one?? Which one is the Dopplenganger ;))
    Ah yes I have heard the horror stories..Happy New Year!

    *Sandeep
    Oh yeah that’s happened to me on Airtel. The conversation went something like this:
    CCGuy: Oh yeah the cannot be fixed..you can’t fight the big corporation, but..how you doing?
    Tia: :O

  6. Did you start giggling or was it just :O? πŸ˜›

  7. *Sandeep
    Dude I have high standards macha…Unless he was prince of an enchanted island driving an Audi, I wouldn’t be giggling…

  8. If at all I am anybody’s doppelganger, it is mine. So I do not know whether I fit the description. Well, this nikhil is the bald one, the cheap Halford imitation. πŸ™‚

  9. *Nikhil
    Bald?? really?? Interesting. My roomie watches so much of roadies that any bald guy seems one of those roadie bald guys – rajiv and raghu or something..

  10. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
