Have you met miss Jones?

Have you met Miss Jones
Someone said as we shook hands
She was just Miss Jones to me

– Frank Sinatra/Ella Fitzgerald/Robbie Williams – Have you met Miss Jones

Have you ever had one of those days when you wanted to just fall off the earth?

I have. And quite often actually.

I have always wanted to be the heroine of one of those M&B’s or Silhouettes or Judith McNaughts – the damsel in distress who was so beautiful and was rescued and wanted by the most eligible man in town.

Instead I am the protagonist of a chick lit. Something on the lines of Bridget Jones.

Why?

Let’s see now..Hmm could it be because the verbal diarrhoea or the clumsiness or my weight issues or my dating history or the fact that I am the cosmic target for all the slip-ups and embarrassment.

Dang, I can’t decide.

Here’s the dope:

– I went for an interview for a job and later realized my fly was open when I went for it (Thankfully this happens to many women. Still….!). Know what’s even more weird, I was offered the job! (And quite contrary to what you are thinking, the interview was conducted by two women.)

– When I was in 4th std. I left my shoe on the staircase earning the nickname Cinderella. See I used to wear my black shoes loose so that I didn’t have to keep opening the buckle. And one afternoon I was walking to the class in the afternoon and well, my shoes came off. So my whole body was in motion and the shoe wasn’t.

– Once a guy friend and I decided to go out for lunch. We walked down Outer Ring Road in search of a restaurant. So we were getting back and there was a huge gust of wind which blew my salwar right up onto my face. Oh yeah the Indian subdued version of a Marilyn Monroe.

So the next time you see me blush it’s not because I am thinking of anything romantic – it’s because I have done something stupid.

~ by tia on December 12, 2008.

2 Responses to “Have you met miss Jones?”

  1. yep i met miss jones yday…she’ the sexy janitor in my office 😉

  2. *ancientmariner
    Different strokes for different folks

Leave a Reply

 
