Dark Sunshine

I watched Little Miss Sunshine yesterday to relax and what a movie!

It made cry and then laugh and then go aaaaaw!

The movie is about a family that is so..imbalanced and so ordinarily not normal and so very dysfunctional. You have the parents fighting (the father is a motivational speaker trying to sell his book), the son on a vow of silence because he wants to become a pilot, a heroin snorting grandfather, an overweight daughter and a suicidal gay uncle.The daughter is selected for the Little Miss Sunshine pageant and the family decide to drive up to California so that she can participate in the final round.And then things start to fall apart…

I just loved how practical it was. When the family decides to step on to the stage and dance with Olive it’s not so that the judges think its cute and Olive wins a la full-house. Instead it’s the realization on everyones part that they are such losers, that things cannot possibly get than worse than this and maybe they should just have fun and support each other.And somehow the VW Bus is so symbolic of life itself I guess.

The movie wasn’t and isn’t an attempt at leaving you with a sweet, almost cloying taste in your mouth. I love it when Steve Carell advices Paul Dano (the Nietzsche influenced teenage rebel whose ambition is to make it to the Air Force and who pretends he doesn’t care about his family but he does):

Dwayne (Paul): I wish I could just sleep until I was eighteen and skip all this crap-high school and everything-just skip it.
Frank (Steve Carell): Do you know who Marcel Proust is?
Dwayne: He’s the guy you teach.
Frank: Yeah. French writer. Total loser. Never had a real job. Unrequited love affairs. Gay. Spent 20 years writing a book almost no one reads. But he’s also probably the greatest writer since Shakespeare. Anyway, he uh… he gets down to the end of his life, and he looks back and decides that all those years he suffered, Those were the best years of his life, ’cause they made him who he was. All those years he was happy? You know, total waste. Didn’t learn a thing. So, if you sleep until you’re 18… Ah, think of the suffering you’re gonna miss. I mean high school? High school-those are your prime suffering years. You don’t get better suffering than that.

And Paul (Dwayne is his character in the movie) realizes:

You know what?F*** beauty contests. Life is one f***ing beauty contest after another. School, then college, then work… F*** that. And f*** the Air Force Academy. If I want to fly, I’ll find a way to fly. You do what you love, and f*** the rest.

It is such dark humor, that you realize the movie is amusing even though it shouldn’t be amusing!

Some memorable quotes:

Olive: Grandpa, am I pretty?
Grandpa: You are the most beautiful girl in the world.
Olive: You’re just saying that.
Grandpa: No! I’m madly in love with you and it’s not because of your brains or your personality.

Richard (father): Oh my God, I’m getting pulled over. Everyone, just… pretend to be normal.

Sheryl (mother): [after Frank tried to commit suicide] I’m so glad you’re still here.
Frank (uncle): Well, that makes one of us.

Olive: Why were you unhappy?
Frank (uncle): I fell in love with someone…
[interrupted by Grandpa blowing his nose]
Frank: …who didn’t love me back.
Olive: Who?
Frank: One of my grad students. I was very much in love with him.
Olive: *Him*? You fell in love with a boy?
Frank: Very much so.
Olive: That’s silly.
Frank: You’re right it was silly. It was very silly
Grandpa: That’s another word for it.

Richard (father): Sarcasm is the refuge of losers.
Frank (uncle): [sarcastically] Really?
Richard: Sarcasm is losers trying to bring winners down to their level.
Frank: [sarcastically] Thank you for opening my eyes to what a loser I am!

Here’s a peek into the movie:

~ by tia on August 20, 2008.

7 Responses to “Dark Sunshine”

  1. πŸ™‚

  2. another movie to my, already a zillion plus, to watch list πŸ™‚

  3. Loved those quotes.

  4. loved this movie…..my son watched this more than 10 times….i think it was the VW van that held him…atleast thats wht i thought, until one day we heard him shout from the dining table :

    Wheres the fucking chicken? I want a fucking chicken!

    So much for tht. Now i have a sailor mouth 5 year old

  5. *anoop
    πŸ™‚

    *Sandeep
    Do watch this…you’ll enjoy it..

    *Vinay
    I know.. esp the beauty pageant one.

    *Tys
    Wash your mouth with soap!and you let him watch the unedited version????

  6. hmm will order it online;-)…bTW you have been tagged!!

  7. *ancientmariner
    and I have replied to the tag!

Leave a Reply

 
