Period.

What is it about the word “period” that make men squirm and teenage boys giggle uncomfortably?

I have always been the kind of woman to use the appropriate (not politically correct, mind you) terms for appropriate body functions. So a menstrual cycle would be..a period! Not *squirm* that time of the month, or chums (is that even a word?). The only problem I face is, how do you communicate to a male colleague (sometimes older) that you are going through your mestrual cycle and are very uncomfortable, without making him squirm? How do you know what is the right term or the in house style to you use in communication? PMS is fine by them. But period? No takers.

I have recently come to notice a change in the trend where even men speak about periods without a look of being kicked in the balls, this of course among younger men. I just wouldn’t want to make the faux pas of standing in front of a senior member of the company and say period and watch the guy raise his eyebrow as if to say – here in *** we don’t use that term, and we don’t appreciate people who do.

But you know what would give me immense pleasure? There is this colleague in my office called GK (who is the meanest guy. Actually not mean, not very good with social skills. Not surprising for a software engineer. I am hoping he has interacted with humans before though.) and I would love to make him sit in a chair, in a dark room with a fan and tormnent him by repeating “period, period, period” till he turns pink in his face and his head bursts in embarrassment.

~ by tia on August 13, 2008.

16 Responses to “Period.”

  1. ROTFL… poor guy – u really wanna torture him, rt?
    it will be sigh worth recoding πŸ™‚

  2. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    That’s enough i think. period. πŸ˜›

  3. *Anoop
    Heh heh I know. The poor guy freaked out reading about the “aggression (quote)” though.

    *Sandeep
    Ha ha, u said that without making a face??

  4. i guess its bold to even say that you are going thru a ‘period’. i have rarely seen women say that to men..BTW why would you mention this to a colleague !!?

  5. *Ancientmariner
    Cos when I am PMSing I have this horrid mood swings. YOU know that!You’ve been my target when I am moody!

  6. You know what you should so? You should have some kinda signal. On days you are having a period, wear a big red ribbon on your head, so others know to stay out of your way!!! πŸ˜€

    Why would you want to mention period to a older guy anyway? Why not just say you’re not feeling well? Always have to be controversial. *Shakes head*

  7. yup I know that..but then you can always say that ‘you are not feeling well’ to your colleagues etc and the actual reason to your near and dear ones..like you tell me :D..

  8. *Blah
    bcos every time I say I am not feeling well they ask me what happened!Ha! I think you already know hen I am PMSing…

    *Ancientmariner
    please to read my earlier comment πŸ™‚

  9. ha ha ha…All I can visualize in a hypothetical cloud just above my head is ‘Jahnsi Ki Rani’ doing justice to the enemies…;)

    Well done!!

    Cheers!!

  10. Can’t you see that smiley with tongue out? πŸ˜€

    By saying you are PMSing you’re make him not feel well eh? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    and He’d say ‘I’m not feeling well because she is PMSing’ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    hilarious! πŸ˜€

  11. *Ravish
    *chuckle* yeah…not very good though…men are scared of me now!

    *Sandeep
    Sticking the tongue out isnt equal to a pained expression πŸ˜›
    Hmm depends on the guy πŸ˜›

  12. ah hmm.. ya.. i don’t have a pained expression is saying the p word πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  13. Well, but as they ‘say dar ke aage jeet hai’, I still want to meet you..;)

    Cheers!!

  14. I used ‘but, because I was so scared of you that I could not realize that jhasi ki rani might be averse to the usage of wrong english…;)

    Cheers!!

  15. u mean theres a problem with the term period?…damn who have i been hanging arnd with ….all the girls i know in every school and college used to be pretty open abt it…there was a period of this word chums…hated tht word…but period is not tht much of a taboo…i dont think so..is it?…but i personally think this mood swing part is all a ploy to be just plain nasty once every month….out with the truth i say.

  16. *Ravish
    Lol…Aap to hamri orkut friends list pe hain na…

    *tys
    *chuckle* that too…its a plot i tell ya!

Leave a Reply

 
