Unsex me and my makeup

Come, you spirits
That tend on mortal thoughts, unsex me here,
And fill me from the crown to the toe top-full
Of direst cruelty! make thick my blood;
Stop up the access and passage to remorse,
That no compunctious visitings of nature
Shake my fell purpose, nor keep peace between
The effect and it!

– Lady Macbeth, Macbeth Act I Sc V

Well no, I don’t intend to kill anybody, esp not my boss.

Why the ominous and dark passage from Macbeth? A passage that reminds you of castles, knives, blood, lightning and witches?

Because I have a random allied thought associated with it.

See I’ve never thought of myself as pretty. Pretty what you ask? Pretty…pretty. Pretty pretty. I’ve been the plain jane/girl next door/geeky Bridget Jones who is so clumsy she could even trip on a spoon.

But I have maintained a “hygiene level” (my boss’s favorite term *chuckle* – She has taught me well!) of appearance – which meant brushing my hair and applying kajal and lip gloss. I can’t handle make-up, no sir not me. No rouge, no souffles,Β  no foundation, no powder, no complicated eye shadows.

And then I realized even that basic level of make up (if you can really call it that) makes absolutely no difference. So why the hell should I waste time on doing anything? That extra 5 mins of sleep could really help. I wanted to also go back to wearing glasses. But then, I think I better not.

So I am just gonna go back to being me. No kajal, no lip gloss. A hair clip in my hair and a book in my hand – my new old look.

Thus, unsex me – which is pretty simple considering I apparently come across as a tom-boy, and let me
fight my battles as a man would. No tears, no make up (and considering I need to fight men I wouldn’t need my brains too but…) but just good old stubborn strength and knowledge to take me far.

~ by tia on April 15, 2008.

6 Responses to “Unsex me and my makeup”

  1. Ouch ouch ouch! That’s below the belt. Why have you turned into a man-hater all of a sudden? Something tragic happened? Don’t let it spoil the image of all men around you. Men are not dumb. Nearly all geniuses who ever lived were men. Across all fields. Even cooking.

    πŸ™‚ Food for thought.

    -PeAcE
    –WiTh
    —GuNs

  2. *Guns
    Heh heh…some women have “allowed” to be geniuses too..Marie curie being the biggest example… πŸ™‚
    No I don’t hate men. I just think the world thinks the way it does because of them. If God were a women things would have been much different…think about it πŸ˜‰

  3. So you concede God is a man?
    Aaah… the foot in the mouth disease. Bane of some people, I tell ya. [;)]

  4. *guns
    at least thats what the popular belief is…dont jump into conclusions my dear…they could get you into trouble πŸ˜›
    and too much of orkutting? such html tags dont work on WP…

  5. ‘khoobsorati saadgi me hai ‘ if you understand what I mean πŸ™‚

  6. *ancientmariner
    Dil Mera Har Baar Ye Sunne Ko Bekarar Hai…
    Kaho na pyar haiiiin, kaho na pyar hain…
    Thanks babes πŸ™‚ made me smile in the morning πŸ™‚
    you’re the best *hug*

Leave a Reply

 
