The monk who sold his Apple

All that the poor soul did was to give a speech at Stanford University during a graduation ceremony.

And he is quoted left, right and center like he were the new leader. The new visionary.

I have read *and* heard Steve Job’s Stanford Commencement Speech – Stay Hungry, stay foolish. I have read through forwards and many, *many* people have spoken about it. Let go.

I remember he says something like – Live like it is your last day. Well if you are 50 then it is one of your last days. It is so easy to say that. When you are rich and famous and not to mention 50 or 60, you can always say – Gamble…or live like it is your last day…but when you are 25 and have no idea what lies ahead of you, with no plan or no business idea, you really need to *not* live like it is your last. (And must I even mention the disadvantages of being a woman?!)

If I had asked myself everyday of the 5 months I have worked, whether what I am going to do today is what I wanna do on the last day of my life, I would I have most certainly got a No for an answer. But then today I wouldn’t be on my way to paying my education loan.

I am being very rational and realistic here.

It isn’t like I haven’t gambled. I have gambled. A lot. Not cards or the roulette table, but with life. I believe every time I ride my bike it is like a gamble(*chuckle*) cos I am known to drive very fast. But I meant life’s decisions. I have lost thrice. I have won once. I have never been able to live down my losses.

All the guy did was write a good speech. A good one which would give what I call a ‘philosophical high’. You are pumped, you are kicked, but then reality hits you like cold water and you realize you can’t practice what has been preached. It’s like finding a sign which says: Way to the Holy Grail.

Don’t mistake me, It’s not like I don’t like Steve Jobs. Having read the Speech and other stuff about him, I realize he is a great guy. An ordinary guy who has been through ups and downs and learned lessons on the way. The only problem is the lessons he has learned are tailor made for him and not for the others.

~ by tia on March 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “The monk who sold his Apple”

  1. i know its ironic but i agree with u…its really strange and irritating whn someone talks down at us frm a pedestal..

    u expressed it really well…theres only one philosophical truth i hve found worth its salt : this too will pass.

  2. *tys
    thanx!I don’t see why people take him as a lesson and not his experiences. I agree with ‘this too will pass’ and another thing I live by is ‘everything happens for a reason’

Leave a Reply

 
