Voi Che Sapete

I’ve always wanted to watch the opera…love the Phantom of the Opera – Movie version…someday will watch it in a real Opera theatre…I do wanna watch The Marriage of Figaro – Le Nozze de Figaro.

I wanna watch Opera in Europe and once in New York or Boston to see what the difference is… (someday I’ll also watch a Broadway Musical…)

Here is a sample of Opera (an Italian one): Voi Che Sapete from Le Nozze de Figaro, sung by Rinat Shaham.

Voi che sapete You who know
Che cosa e amor, what love is,
Donne, vedete ladies, see
S’io l’ho nel cor. if I have it in my heart.
Quello ch’io provo What I experience
Vi ridiro: I shall explain:
E per me nuovo, it is new for me,
Capir nol so. I don’t understand it.
Sento un affetto. I feel an emotion.
Pien di desir full of desire
Ch’ora e diletto, that is now pleasure,
Ch’ora e martir. now torment.
Gelo, e poi sento I freeze, then I feel
L’alma avvampar, my soul catch fire,
E in un momento and in a moment
Torno a gelar. I turn to ice.
Ricerco un bene I seek a happiness
Fuori di me, outside myself,
Non so chi’l tiene, I don’t know who has it,
Non so cos’e. I don’t know what it is.
Sospiro e gemo I sigh and groan
Senza voler, without meaning to,
Palpito e tremo I shudder and tremble
Senza saper, without knowing it,
Non trovo pace I find no peace
Notte ne di: by night or day:
Ma pur mi piace but yet I like
Languir cosi. to languish like this.
Voi che sapete You who know
Che cosa e amor, what love is,
Donne, vedete ladies, see
S’io l’ho nel cor. if I have it in my heart.

~ by tia on February 12, 2008.

5 Responses to “Voi Che Sapete”

  1. man, Iam truly impressed with u….personally i wudnt understand a word of opera…but wud love to see one original piece…for the experience..

    u got taste …

  2. hmmm…opera…my personal opinion on operas is total dimaag ka shot

    n hope u get to see those operas u mentioned…where u mentioned…

    just make sure if u take along someone…that someone is also interested…nahi to uska bhi dimaag ka shot ho jayega

  3. Hey.. I’m a total novice in this area. Anyways ur passion has jst created a interest. Let me explore it.

  4. Sushie….
    I am dumbstruck!!!

  5. *Tys
    thank u and so does ur son i believe…

    *Anurag
    Yeah need a classy man for a classy date 😉

    *CM-Chap
    Thanx! I’m sure you’d like it once you understand the meaning..I believe one of my colleagues experience was that she was moved when she heard the opera in Vienna…

    *Rosh
    Hi Rosh!hee hee…so glad to see you here…

Leave a Reply

 
